John Du Cann - The World's Not Big Enough (LP) (NM or M-)

  • Sale
  • Regular price $24.99
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Media Condition: Near Mint (NM or M-)
Sleeve Condition: Near Mint (NM or M-)

*The photos shown here are stock photos provided as reference and do not reflect the condition of the item we have in stock.

Label: Just Add Water - JAW049
Format: LP
Country: US
Released: 2021-06-30


1st press, 300 black vinyl.

This album (plus one bonus track!) was recorded in 1977 and produced by Status Quo’s FRANCIS ROSSI. Shockingly, this album has never been released on vinyl until now. It originally came out on CD in 1992 and is now long out of print and even that goes for good coin. 

Du Cann’s stellar career included freakbeat heroes THE ATTACK (“Magic In The Air”), psych/prog legends ANDROMEDA, and the group he’s best known for, ATOMIC ROOSTER. Du Cann wrote their #4 hit single “Devil’s Answer”. A couple of years later he was in DAEMON, later renamed BULLET, then HARD STUFF. In 1974 he was even a temporary guitarist for a THIN LIZZY German tour. 

In 1977, he was signed to the same management company as STATUS QUO, who paired him with Quo leader, Francis Rossi. The resulting album, “The World’s Not Big Enough” included Rossi on guitar, Andy Bown (The Herd, Judas Jump, Status Quo) on keyboards, Pete Kircher (Honeybus, Status Quo, Liverpool Express) on drums, and John McCoy (Ian Gillian, Tyla Gang, U.K. Subs) on bass. Basically, this is Du Cann backed by Status Quo at their Belt Buckle Boogie peak. 

A few songs from this album appeared on killer late 70s Punxploitation singles “Throw Him Jail”, “Don’t Be A Dummy”, and “Where’s The Show”. This album has been described as “Quo mixed with the Sex Pistols”, and we can’t disagree with that assessment. 

Track List:

A1. You Didn't Know Any Better 3:20
A2. Where's The Show 2:23
A3. When I Was Old 2:33
A4. Throw Him In Jail 2:26
A5. Fashion Fantasy 2:31
A6. If I'm Making 2:56
A7. She's My Woman 2:29
A8. Evil You (Part 1) 2:40
B1. Don't Be A Dummy 3:05
B2. Don't Talk 2:23
B3. Your Application Failed 2:50
B4. Only One Night 2:59
B5. Street Strutter 2:20
B6. Evil You (Part 2) 2:40
B7. Hesitation 2:23
B8. Who Cares? (bonus track) 2:06


Barcode and Other Identifiers:


Copyright (c) Just Add Water Records Inc.
Phonographic Copyright (p) The Store For Music
Licensed From The Store For Music

Producer - Francis Rossi
Liner Notes - Claes Johansen
Lead Vocals - John Du Cann
Keyboards - Andy Bown
Lead Guitar - John Du Cann
Drums - Peter Kircher
Graphics - Doran Shelley
Rhythm Guitar - Francis Rossi
Drums - John Hammond (3)
Bass - John McCoy
Art Direction - Jason Duncan
Rhythm Guitar - John Du Cann
Songwriter - John Du Cann

Data provided by Discogs