The Gizmos - The Gizmos In New York 1980-81 (Cass, Album, Ltd) (NM or M-)

  • Sale
  • Regular price $10.99
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Media Condition: Near Mint (NM or M-)
Sleeve Condition: Near Mint (NM or M-)
New sealed

*The photos shown here are stock photos provided as reference and do not reflect the condition of the item we have in stock.

Label: Gulcher Records - 904
Format: Cass, Album, Ltd
Country: US
Released: 2021-11-26


In the spring of 1980, three-fourths of the Gizmos moved to Hoboken, New Jersey, from their native Bloomington, Indiana. Within a few years, Dale Lawrence would co-front the Vulgar Boatmen, Billy Nightshade would play in Boston's Unattached, and Tim Carroll would form the Blue Chieftains, before establishing a formidable solo career in Nashville. But in 1980, they had their sights set on infiltrating New York's post-punk scene. Hooking up with Long Island drummer Robbie Wise, they soon began getting gigs in the city. But getting anyone to notice proved a tougher nut. "We thought we'd been operating in a void in Indiana," remembers Lawrence. "In New York we found out what a void really was! At least back home, people cared enough to dislike us." The Gizmos would finally call it quits the following summer. But in that one year of east-coast residency, they would tighten up their rhythm section, expand their songwriting, and make the best recordings of their career, at Zeami Studios with fellow Hoosiers Mark Bingham and Mark Hood producing. "The Midwest Can Be Allright," released at the time on the Red Snerts compilation of Indiana bands, is often cited as the group's finest song. The rest of that session is presented here, along with live recordings and living-room demos. Several songs make their official debut: "Now I Wanna Go Fast," "Pignose," "Tricky Rhythms," "Shoplifting," "Nervous Man in A $4 Room," and a cover of Jerry Lee Lewis's "Little Green Valley." A superior-sounding version of the Billy Nightshade classic "Don't Forget About Lightweight" is also in evidence. All in all, The Gizmos In New York is a fitting document of the very end of the long and twisted Gizmos saga.  Limited edition of 100.

Track List:

A1. The Midwest Can Be Allright
A2. Hard Hoboken Line
A3. Pignose
A4. Shoplifting
A5. Take Me To The River
A6. (Don't Forget About) Lightweight
A7. See About You
A8. Same Old Mountain Music
B1. Tricky Rhythms (Do Not A Dance Band Make)
B2. Now I Wanna Go Fast
B3. Little Green Valley
B4. Biscuits & Gravy
B5. Nervous Man In A $4 Room
B6. Heartbeat
B7. My Baby Loves Crime
B8. Please Panic


Barcode and Other Identifiers:


Data provided by Discogs